Central Africa: The 9 Central African Countries

Equatorial Guinea

Malabo is the capital of Equatorial Guinea. The country covers 28,051 square kilometers. The official languages of Equatorial Guinea are French and Spanish. Equatorial Guinea also use the Central African CFA franc. A small population of around 736,296 people live in this Central African country.

Whilst the country has a relatively low population it has enormous oil reserves and is one of the largest oil producers in Africa. It is the second richest African country ($23,370) by GDP per capita.


Gabon is a sovereign state located on the west coast of Central Africa. Capital of Gabon is Libreville. The nation’s currency is Central African CFA franc. French is the official language of Gabon, which covers 267,668 square kilometers. Around 1.577 million people live in Gabon.

Sao Tome and Principe

This Portuguese-speaking island nation has an area of 964 square kilometers. Sao Tome is its capital and Sao Tome and Principe Dobra is its currency. Around 179,506 people live in Sao Tome and Principe, which is the smallest Portuguese-speaking nation in the world.

Luba, Mongo, Kongo and Kanuri are some major ethnic groups in Central Africa.

Pages: 1 2 3 4

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>