The 9 East African Countries

East Africa is the easterly region of the African continent. It is defined by geography or geopolitics. The region is comprised of ten countries. The  East African Community (EAC) is composed of Burundi, Kenya, Rwanda, Tanzania and Uganda.

Here is a brief overview of the nine East African countries.


Tanzania is a poor country (GDP (nominal): $36.6 billion), which is located in the African Great Lakes region. It covers 947,303 sq km. It is a one party dominant state with the Chama Cha Mapinduzi party in power. Mount Kilimanjaro is located in this East African country, which has 16 national parks. The legal system of the country is based on English common law.

Tanzania Map by AfricaRanking.com


Burundi is a landlocked country located in the African Great Lakes region of Southeast Africa. The nation is governed by a presidential representative democratic republic. It is one of the five poorest countries (GDP: $2.48 billion) in the world. This landlocked nation has an equatorial climate.


Rwanda is located few degrees south of the equator. It covers 26,338 square kilometers. Its economy is based mostly on subsistence agriculture. Population of Rwanda is 11,689,696. It is a sovereign state. The president is the head of the state.


Uganda is the second most populous landlocked country in the world. It lies within the Nile basin and has a varied but generally equatorial climate. English is the official language of Uganda. The president is both head of state and head of government. It is one of the poorest nations (GDP: $21 billion) in the world.

Uganda Map

Pages: 1 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>