English Speaking African Countries


The British government granted independence to Seychelles in 1976. It became a republic within the Commonwealth in the same year. English, French and Seychellois Creole are the official languages of Seychelles. The newspapers also use these three languages.

Victoria Seychelles

Sierra Leone

West African nation Sierra Leone’s official language is English. The language is used extensively at schools and government offices. For a person to be qualified as a Member of the Sierra Leone Parliament, he/she should be able to speak, read and write in English. The nation gained independence from the UK in 1961.

Sierra Leone Map: List of Countries in West Africa

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10


  1. 1
  2. 2

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>