12 Longest Serving African Presidents

2. Teodoro Obiang Nguema – Equatorial Guinea: 36 years in power

Teodoro Obiang Nguema Mbasogo is the President of Equatorial Guinea. He came to power in August 1979 by ousting his uncle Francisco Macias Nguema in a military coup. He has overseen the emergence of the nation as an important oil producer, beginning in 1990s. He was the Chairperson of the African Union from 31st January 2011 to 29th January 2012.


1. Mohamed Abdelaziz – Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic: 40 years in power

Right at the top of the list is Mohamed Abdelaziz, the third and current Secretary General of the Polisario Front and President of the Sahrawi Arab Democratic Republic. His tenure began in 30th August 1976. Mohamed Abdelaziz is a secular nationalist. He was elected as the vice-president of the African Union at its first summit. He was nominated for the Nobel Peace Prize in 2001.


It is indeed a challenge to rule a nation for more than a decade. The above-mentioned leaders have managed to stay in power for more than a decade, which is indeed an abuse of democracy.

You may also like:

Most Corrupt Countries in Africa

Pages: 1 2 3 4 5 6

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>