Top African Footballer of the Year Winners

Ever since 1992, the Confederation of African Football (CAF) has been giving the award, The African Footballer of the Year, to the best African footballer each year. Erstwhile, between 1970 and 1994, the African Footballer of the Year Golden Ball award was being given by France Football magazine.

These are the top winners of the “African Footballer of the Year” of all-time.

4) Abedi Pele (3 time-winner)

Perhaps one of the greatest African football players of all time, Abedi Pele was one of the pioneers of African football in Europe. A Ghanaian international football star, he won the France Football Magazine African Player of the Year Award three times (1991, 1992, and 1993), was the first African player to win the BBC African Sports Star of the Year in 1992, and also the corresponding Confederation of African Football award, twice. In 1992, He was awarded the Golden Ball Award for being the best player at the African Cup of Nations.

Abedi Pele

Pages: 1 2 3 4

One comment

  1. 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>