Top African Footballer of the Year Winners

3) George Weah (3 time-winner)

Of Liberian descent, Weah is the only African Player to have won the Ballon d’Or (European Player of the Year) in 1995, making him one of the most outstanding African players of all time. He won the African Footballer of the Year in 1989 when he was with AS Monaco. This was a huge accomplishment for him so much so that he brought the award back to his homeland, Liberia, for the entire country to celebrate with him. He went on to win the African Footballer of the Year again in 1994 when he was at Paris Saint Germain, and 1995 with AC Milan. That year he won almost every award a footballer could win.



Pages: 1 2 3 4

One comment

  1. 1

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <s> <strike> <strong>